Emerald and beryl - what's the difference?

To answer, we need to distinguish between two concepts - the mineral species and variety.
A mineral species is a group of minerals with a similar chemical composition and the same crystal structure.
Mineral varieties are minerals of a certain type and differing in their physicochemical properties or the composition of impurities.
 
Now back to our question. Beryl is a mineral species, belongs to the class of silicates and has the formula Al2 [Be3 (Si6O18)]. In connection with the possibility of entering into the structure of beryl various impurities, it has several varieties that differ in colors. One of them is an emerald, the green color of which is caused by the replacement of Al in the structure of beryl with Cr or V and Fe.

Other publications

Aventurine is called a rock, which is a type of quartzite. It is characterized by a fine or fine-grained structure and mainly quartz composition. A distinctive feature of aventurine is the presence in it of numerous small inclusions of mica (most often) or hematite and chlorite (rarely), which create a sparkling effect when light hits the stone.

Everyone knows a green gem - an emerald, but few thought about how it is formed. Currently, all emerald deposits are divided into three categories: pegmatite, greisen and telethermal.

When we hear the word "turquoise" in our head immediately there is an idea of ​​a light blue stone with dark veins. However, few people know that the bulk of the so-called turquoise in the jewelry market is fakes.

The generally accepted world classification system for diamonds is based on the presence or absence of nitrogen impurities in them. In accordance with this criterion, two types of diamonds are distinguished: I - nitrogen and II - nitrogen-free (low-nitrogen).

Charoite is an ornamental stone with a lilac color of different saturation. Charoite belongs to the group of pyroxenes of the subclass of chain silicates.

Введите номер документа
Ru
10:00 - 19:00
Рабочие дни:
Понедельник - Пятница
с 10:00 до 19:00
Суббота и Воскресенье
лаборатория не работает

Изумруд и берилл - в чем разница?

Для ответа нам необходимо разграничить два понятия - минеральный вид и разновидность.
Минеральный вид - это группа минералов со схожим химическим составом и одинаковой кристаллической структурой.
Минеральная разновидность - это минералы, относящиеся к определенному виду и отличающиеся по физико-химическим свойствам или составу примесей.
 
Теперь вернемся к нашему вопросу. Берилл является минеральным видом, относится к классу силикатов и имеет формулу Al2[Be3(Si6O18)]. В связи с возможностью вхождения в структуру берилла  разнообразных примесей, у него имеется несколько разновидностей, разхличающихся по цветам. Одной из них является изумруд, зеленая окраска которого вызвана замещением Al в структуре берилла на Cr или V и Fe.
Другие публикации

Авантюрином называется горная порода, являющаяся разновидностью кварцита. Для нее характерна тонко- или мелкозернистая структура и преимущественно кварцевый состав.

Всем известен драгоценный камень зеленого цвета - изумруд, но мало кто задумывался как он образуется. В настоящее время все месторождения изумруда делятся на три категории: пегматитовые, грейзеновые и телетермальные.

Когда мы слышим слово "бирюза" в голове сразу возникает представление о светло-голубом камне с темными прожилками. Однако, мало кто знает, что основная масса так называемой бирюзы на ювелирном рынке является подделками.

Общепринятая мировая система классификации алмазов основывается на наличии или отсутствии примеси азота в них. В соответствии с этим критерием выделяют два типа алмазов: I - азотные и II  - безазотные (малоазотные).

Чароитом называется поделочный камень, имеющий сиреневую окраску разной насыщенности. Чароит относится к группе пироксенов подкласса цепочечных силикатов.